2017 Honorary Chair:
Sumana Nallapati

Sumana (Suma) Nallapati is an accomplished technology leader and consultant with more than eighteen years progressive experience in establishing and executing value driven global IT service strategy and delivery. She has extensive experience with leading technology driven innovation for business transformation, health care infrastructure operations, and global enterprise business applications. She is a people leader who builds high performance teams within multi-cultural, globally distributed workforce through mentoring, coaching and inspiration.

Suma is a champion of collaboration, breaking silos and achieving excellence across all organizations. As Colorado’s Secretary of Technology and Chief Information Officer, she is committed to positioning the Governor’s Office of Information Technology (OIT) as a leader in IT innovation for state government. She is also passionately committed to providing everyday solutions for our customers and end users. Under Suma’s leadership, OIT has received numerous awards, including two 2015 NASCIO State IT Recognition Awards for the state’s Secure Colorado initiative and Universal Application; a finalist 2015 NASCIO State IT Recognition Award for the state’s Program Eligibility and Application Kit (PEAK) mobile app, and two 2015 StateScoop 50 awards for PEAK enhancements and the Department of Revenue’s Infrastructure Modernization Initiative. Suma was also chosen as one of Computerworld’s Premier 100 IT Leaders for 2015. Additionally, Suma’s information security team received two more awards (a 2015 Cybersecurity Leadership and Innovation Award from the Center for Digital Government and a 2015 CSO50 Award from IDG) for the State of Colorado’s multi-year, strategic security plan — Secure Colorado.

Suma comes to OIT from Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI), one of the nation’s largest healthcare networks, where she led service delivery operations for a complex multi-state rapidly growing healthcare IT footprint leading distributed teams that included data center and network operations, service desk and end user computing. Previously, Suma worked at TeleTech where she served as the Global Director of Enterprise applications. Suma worked to deploy complex ERP, self-service business applications and related systems in a governed, best practices framework across 19 countries and helped with the transformation of the technology organization to a true service provider model.

Suma co-founded a highly successful IT consulting firm that translates proven CRM, ERP, e-business and Business Intelligence technologies business solutions for its clients across the United States. This has helped her cultivate a “think like an owner” attitude which helps her align a company’s vision, mission, value, and culture with the daily activities of the business.

She earned a master’s degree in nuclear physics from the Andhra University India, a Professional Management certification from Mountain States Employers Council and a Project Management certificate from the Project Management Institute. She has made Colorado her home for the past 17 years along with her husband Srinivas and two children. She is actively involved with several charities around health and education.

Past Honorary Chairs

2016 Byeongsook Seo, for his selfless leadership and passion to support the AAPI community with his professional (Korean American)

2015 Gloria Williams, for her tireless support and volunteerism not only in the Filipino community, but across the area’s pan-Asian community. (Filipino)

2014 Paul & Kate Tauer, former Mayor and First Lady of Aurora for their tireless support for the Asian American Pacific Islander communities. (Honorary pan-Asians)
2013 Kimiko Side, Volunteer, teacher of traditional Japanese arts, crafts and culture (Japanese American)
2012 Aya Mariagnes Medrud, educator, activist and founding member of Boulder Asian Pacific Alliance (Japanese American)
2011 Dr. Rudie Lie, founder of Asian Pacific Development Center (Indonesian American)
2010 Daniel Oh, entrepreneur and community leader (Korean American)
2009 Kerry Hada, Denver County Judge (Japanese American)
2008 Ved Nanda, professor (Indian American)
2007 Susanna Choi, physician and community leader (Korean American)
2006 George and Helen Yoshida, community volunteers (George is a retired social worker) (Japanese Hawaiian)
2005 Donna LaVigne, entrepreneur and Asian community leader (Filipino American)
2004 John Yee, veteran and educator (Chinese American)
2003 Jaime Yrastorza, doctor and humanitarian (Filipino American)
2002 Bill Hosokawa, journalist and longtime Denver Post editor (Japanese American)
2001 Stan Matsunaka, former Colorado State Senate President (Japanese American)



Leave a Reply